Reviews



Relaxing stay - Rating 5/5

Second stay and hope to visit again. Comfy bed and pillows perfectly cooked poached eggs and a lovely breakfast. Every thing we needed and a lovely couple hosting Many thanks

Reviewer:Janet Pitt | Fri 8th Dec 2017


Visit to Chester- Rating 5/5

Stayed overnight during a visit to Chester. Really good welcome. Everything you need including a fantastically comfortable bed. Breakfast was really tasty and nothing was too much trouble. Will definitely use again if in the area and recommend a visit as great welcome, comfortable room and fab breakfast and excellent value.

Reviewer:Sian Wood | Mon 4th Dec 2017


Excellent accommodation- Rating 5/5

Really very nice host friendly and doo accommodating. Warm and cosy. Lovely breakfast. Would definitely return.

Reviewer:Marie Connaughton | Mon 20th Nov 2017


Excellent Stay - Rating 5/5

A really lovely place to stay. Very clean comfortable house. Super breakfast and a very welcoming couple. What more could you want. 10/10

Reviewer:Alan Mcleish | Sun 12th Nov 2017


Lovely place to stay - Rating 4/5

A lovely place to stay, warm and welcoming, comfortable room, great breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble.

Reviewer:Mrs C Bell | Sat 4th Nov 2017


Fab - Rating 5/5

We had one night here as we were visiting Chester Zoo. The house is in a lovely setting off the main road. Sally the host was friendly and served a lovely breakfast there was a hugechoice including fresh fruit cereals and a full English. We had a double ensuite room with lively views it was a good size roommodern comfortable and most importantly immaculately clean. I would deffinitely reccommend staying here. We ate our evening meal at the Cheshire Cat not far from the BB and that was also lovely.

Reviewer:Karol Adams | Mon 23rd Oct 2017


Wonderful and friendly atmosphere and owners- Rating 5/5

A quiet and rural retreat close to amenities owned and run by the most pleasant and friendly couple. The breakfast was fantastic, the room and bathroom were clean and bright and the overall setting was lovely.

Reviewer:Andrew Peach | Sat 14th Oct 2017


Excellent and friendly - Rating 5/5

We had a most enjoyable stay. Room, bed and breakfast all excellent and most friendly proprietors. Thank you.

Reviewer:Marion Hall | Sun 1st Oct 2017


Mostly recommenable stay - Rating 5/5

It was a pleasant stay with Sally. The house and the romme are comforatble, breakfast was great. Sally offered a warm and individual atmosphere in her home.

Reviewer:Hans Koerbl | Mon 25th Sep 2017


Just what I Wanted - Rating 5/5

Clean, tidy, well-appointed,comfortable, friendly host, good value

Reviewer:Stephen Barrett | Wed 23rd Aug 2017


So lovely!- Rating 5/5

Sally &Steve made us feel right at home and I couldn\'t reccomend them enough. Comfiest bed too!

Reviewer:Lydia Deboub | Mon 14th Aug 2017


Perfect - Rating 5/5

We stayed 3 nights as we were in the area for a long weekend.We booked both rooms and were really pleased that we also had the use of a private lounge.Sally and Steve were delightful hosts and anticipated all our needs.Everything was spotless, the rooms were very comfortable and the breakfast was fresh and beautifully cooked.Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Lyla Ward | Tue 8th Aug 2017


Chester Weekend - Rating 5/5

Once again we chose to stay at Fernlea B&B it\'s a Lovely place Home from Home is how i think of it.Sally &Steve the Proprietors are such a lovely friendly couple nothing is too much trouble. The home cooked Breakfast with all the extras such as cereal fresh fruits toast &jams or marmalade is excellent as is the room we stay in. Would Highly Recommend Staying Here

Reviewer:Rachel Stewart | Thu 3rd Aug 2017


Great stay- Rating 5/5

Friendly welcome and very comfortable stay, we would definitely book again if we visit the area any time in the future.

Reviewer:Lindsey Martin | Tue 11th Jul 2017


Lovely and perfect - Rating 5/5

Lovely couple who did everything to ensure we had a comfortable stay , which indeed we did . Good quality breakfast beds and linen . Would recommend to anyone. Lovely

Reviewer:audrey sharpe | Mon 10th Jul 2017


fantastische unterkunft - Rating 5/5

es hat uns sehr gefallen und es war sehr nahe an chester dran was für uns wichtig war .Frühstück war excelentund wir würden es jederzeit wieder buchen falls wir noch einmal in diese richtung fahren

Response

\\\'We really liked it and it was very close to chester dran which was important for us. Breakfast was excelentund we would book it again at any time if we go again in this direction\\\'Thanks for your comments translated above, and we hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip in this country.

Reviewer:Marion Sandford | Sun 2nd Jul 2017


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

would definitely stay again.Very clean and comfortable.Sally was perfect host ,breakfastdelicious.Pity we couldn\'t stay another night.

Reviewer:Pam Williams | Sun 25th Jun 2017


Good stay - Rating 5/5

Very pleased with everything.

Reviewer:Mr. Alan Mcleish | Sun 11th Jun 2017


Bank Holiday Break - Rating 5/5

A second lovely stay. A warm and friendly welcome. Pleasant comfortable room with excellent welcome tray and wonderful view. Lovely breakfast. Thank you.

Reviewer:Joan Malcolm | Thu 8th Jun 2017


Lovely location & friendly hosts - Rating 5/5

Had a great 1 night stay. Really friendly hosts and a delicious breakfast. Parking is easy. Wi-Fi reliable

Reviewer:Sabina Crouch | Sat 20th May 2017


Peaceful and relaxing - Rating 5/5

Lovely peaceful place which had ensuite bedroom overlooking the fields. Hosts are lovely and very accommodating as had early starts and they provided breakfast half an hour earlier than normal for me. Hot english breakfast included and very filling even if no marmite. Only downside was trying to turn into drive which was nearly a 360degree turn off road,which when there are narrow brick gate posts either side and you are driving a 4x4 makes you breath in, but it didnt spoil stay and would definately stay again and recommend it to others.

Reviewer:cheryl taylor | Sat 6th May 2017


Superb - Rating 5/5

Very clean, friendly and convenient B&B. Great breakfast and comfy bed. If I am in the area I will definitely stay there again.Having looked around for a B&B this is the best value for miles.

Reviewer:Nigel Arthur | Thu 4th May 2017


Fernlea Bed & Breakfast - Rating 5/5

Very nice accommodation, clean and tidy. Friendly host and excellent breakfast

Reviewer:Heidi Webber | Wed 3rd May 2017


The perfect choice - Rating 5/5

The accommodation was excellent, in a beautiful rural location. A warm welcome throughout our stay. Immaculate, tastefully furnished rooms within a self-contained annexe, including a lovely private sitting room for guests\' use, and access to a private terrace.Breakfast was delicious, and we could not think of any room for improvement.

Reviewer:Trevor Browne | Sun 30th Apr 2017


Lovely stay would recommend - Rating 5/5

Clean, tidy and comfortable. Thanks Sally for the hospitality and the breakfast in the morning!

Reviewer:Jeremy Prior | Fri 28th Apr 2017


Relaxing Stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed one night here on shopping trip to Chester. Very well appointed room double bed and en-suit shower room, very clean and tidy Wifi good. Lovely choice of breakfast fare, well cooked and presented by Sally who was a very welcoming host. We recommend and hope to stay there again ourselves.

Response

Thanks for the lovely review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewer:Janet Pitt | Sat 22nd Apr 2017


Fantastic place to stay- Rating 5/5

I have enjoyed my time spent at Fernlea Cottage with my daughter. Sally and Steve are great hosts who really care about providing anexcellent standard of service with a personal touch. The cottage is beautiful, peaceful and in a great location for the main attractions in Chester.

Response

Thanks for a lovely review and we are pleased that you both enjoyed your stay - just a pity that the weather wasn\'t so good for you.

Reviewer:Sherisha Richards | Tue 18th Apr 2017


Fernlea Cottage Bed and Breakfast - Rating 5/5

Fernlea Cottage provides superb accomodation - the room was excellent and all facilities are top class - Sally and Steve combine complete professionalism with a warm, friendly, welcoming manner which produces an excellent overall experience.

Response

Thanks for the lovely review and it is surprising that there are so many coincidences in life!Reminiscing about old school times throws up so many long forgotten memories.Best wishes and hope to see you again.

Reviewer:stephen white | Sun 16th Apr 2017


Wedding weekend - Rating 5/5

I booked this accommodation for my in-laws and they could not have been happier with the choice. Steve and Sally are lovely hosts and my in-laws had a great weekend.Thank you

Response

Thanks for the review and we are pleased that your in-laws were happy with your choice.It can be difficult choosing something for someone else as our tastes are not always the same. Hope to see them again in the future.

Reviewer:Mrs. Janet Hellmers | Tue 11th Apr 2017


one night stay 08/04/2017 - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable and well equipped room, excellent breakfast. Perfect hosts.

Response

Thanks for the review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewer:Steve Kelsall | Mon 10th Apr 2017


Fabulous stay- Rating 5/5

Stayed here one night with our adult daughter as we were attending a wedding at Peckforton Castle. The accomodation was very comfortable, welcoming and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was fantastic. But most of all it was out wonderfully warm and welcoming hosts that made our stay extra special. Thank you so much Steve and Sally and all the very best for the new year.

Reviewer:Claire Davies | Sat 31st Dec 2016


Recommended - Rating 5/5

Very welcoming and comfortable thank you. A home from home in all respects.

Reviewer:Dr. Anthony Williams | Mon 19th Dec 2016


Weekend in Chester - Rating 5/5

Stayed another 3 nights at the Wonderful Fernlea B &B in Chester.The Owners Sally and Steve are a Lovely Couple The B &B is Home from Home a Lovely Place to Stay 😊The Room is Clean &Very Comfortable with Lovely Views 😀The Breakfast is First Class Too 😀I have stayed here 3 times now &am booked in again for another weekend stayI would Highly Recommend Fernlea

Response

Lovely as always to see you again and we are looking forward to meeting in July as we thought that you might not be coming this way in the future.Best wishes.

Reviewer:Rachel Stewart | Sat 10th Dec 2016


Delightful B&B - Rating 5/5

Warm, friendly &welcoming hosts. Cosy, pleasantly furnished en-suite room. Tasty full English breakfast.Clean &well presented throughout.

Reviewer:Rita Courthold | Thu 8th Dec 2016


Fantastic place- Rating 5/5

The fernlea B&B was absolutely lovely, we were made very welcome and the place is spotless! Breakfast was lovely and nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely stay again!

Reviewer:Jenna Newell | Mon 5th Dec 2016


A Fair Deal at Fernlea - Rating 4/5

Always very welcoming and helpful. The room shows that considerable thought has gone into what would make a comfortable stay. For example the fresh milk in the bedroom for teas/coffees.

Reviewer:Tony Wheeler | Tue 15th Nov 2016


Great little B&B - Rating 5/5

Thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Fernlea B&B made to feel really welcome nothing was too much trouble for Sally and Steve.The view from the window was fantastic as was the breakfast! Will definately be visiting again.

Reviewer:Emma Dent | Mon 7th Nov 2016


An excellent Bed and breakfast! - Rating 5/5

Stay only for two nights,would be nice to stay longer.Food,cleanleness and hospitality second to none!

Reviewer:David Simm | Sat 29th Oct 2016


Top notch - Rating 5/5

Excellent B&B, room exceptional, well appointed and immaculately clean. Owner very helpful and straightforward,lovely breakfast, good start to the day!Recommend Fernlea Cottage highly.

Reviewer:Chris Hughes | Thu 27th Oct 2016


Great night\'s stay - Rating 5/5

I stayed for one night to attend a nearby function.The room and adjoining bathroom were very clean, well presented and contained everything required.The hosts were very welcoming and the breakfast the following day was excellent.Tremendous value too for a very pleasant and enjoyable stay.

Reviewer:Roger Pointon | Mon 26th Sep 2016


Excellent accomodation - Rating 5/5

The accommodation was the cleanest and best we have stayed at for a long time.Breakfast was was excellent.You could not wish for a better stay.

Reviewer:David Williamson | Wed 14th Sep 2016


Excellent choice for a wedding at Peckforton Castle - Rating 4/5

We stayed here for a wedding at Peckforton Castle - very convenient. The room was very pleasant and the bed extremely comfortable. The ensuite facilities were very well done with a good sized shower which is very gentle. The welcome we received was warm and friendly and Sally happily restricted the dog to their part of the house. The lounge was a bonus given the inclement weather and enabled us to work in comfort, we hope BT can resolve your internet connection quickly. Fernlea Cottage is also very convenient for visiting Chester.

Reviewer:Sandra Webster | Tue 13th Sep 2016


As excellent as expected - Rating 5/5

From other reviews and photographs we had expected the highest standards and did not get disappointed. The rooms were fully and nicely equipped, nothing left to ask for. Very welcoming hosts and fabulous breakfast. I would always recommend it.

Reviewer:Frank Rabel | Mon 12th Sep 2016


Fernlea - Rating 5/5

Very pleasant house out in the country with welcoming hosts. Wasn\'t able to stay long as helping at Pony Club Championships, but they were very accommodating as to when I could arrive and having breakfast before I had to leave.

Reviewer:Mrs. Pru Rose | Wed 24th Aug 2016


Friendly, welcoming and cosey B&B - Rating 5/5

Upon arrival, the owners could not be more accomadating! It was a lovely B&B with a very delicious breakfast. The bed was extremely comfortable and the house was very peaceful and quiet. I couldn\'t reccomend it enough.

Reviewer:Miss. Melissa Brook | Mon 22nd Aug 2016


Fernlea Cottage - Rating 5/5

Everything about the stay was top drawer. The room was second to none.We were made to feel very welcome by Sally and Steve and the breakfast was delicious. We hada meal at Carriages very nearby and again were made to feel welcome. The roast dinner was excellent

Reviewer:Charles Broooke-Mee | Tue 9th Aug 2016


Excellent - Rating 5/5

What a find! Everything brilliant. Lovely room.. Nothing too much. Great breakfast.A great stay.Will becoming again.

Reviewer:Rosamund Whieldon | Mon 8th Aug 2016


Creature comforts and more - Rating 5/5

Sally and Steve are wonderful caring hosts and provide everything you may need. From friendly conversation to gluten free bread! The eggs are from their chickens too yum! The garden is gorgeous and the views are beautiful. I looked forward to my cozy bed and super clean room every night after a long day of training.

Reviewer:Sonia Leite | Sun 7th Aug 2016


Exploring Cheshire - Rating 5/5

Central to a range of local attreactions.A lovely relaxing stay. Room light and airywith lovely view of the surrounding countryside. Bed comfortable,room well equipped and a good welcome tray. Owners welcoming and friendly. Good breakfast menu with food well prepared and presented. Thank you. Joan

Reviewer:Joan Malcolm | Wed 3rd Aug 2016


Birthday Trip to Chester - Rating 5/5

We stayed @ Fernlea B&B for 2 Nights 22/07/2016 &24/07/2016 and we chose well.We would highly recommend Fernlea ☺Sally &Steve are Lovely Hosts ☺ The Rooms are Excellent, Very Clean &Comfortable and The Breakfast was Lovely so much choice 😊 We will most certainly return,nothing was too much trouble!!!!Thankyou for a Lovely StayRachel &Robert Stewart(Nottingham)

Reviewer:Rachel Stewart | Tue 26th Jul 2016


Lovely Stay - Rating 5/5

The welcome was warm and friendly and the room was clean and tidy. Our breakfast was cooked to perfection and although we did not realise we were unable to pay by card, the owner was very accommodating and resolved the problem without issue. We would stay again if we are in the area and can recommend to other travellers

Reviewer:Craig Risbey | Sun 24th Jul 2016


Short Stay - Rating 5/5

This is a really excellent bed and breakfast. The accommodation is first rate, modern and clean. We will stay here again if we return to the Chester area.

Reviewer:Norman McCracken | Tue 12th Jul 2016


Absolutely top notch- Rating 5/5

Loved this place!! Everything from the welcome to our departure exceeded our expectations. Comfy, well equipped rooms, super breakfast and lovely, lovely owners. A little out of Chester but this didn\'t trouble as it is such good value for money a taxi fare doesn\'t break the bank. We\'ll definitely consider it if we visit Chester again in the future.

Reviewer:Robert Harris | Tue 14th Jun 2016


What more could you want! - Rating 5/5

Spotlessly clean, comfortable bed and a super breakfast. 3 ingredients for a cracking B &B. BUT Sally &Steve Brown offer more, much more. I have been a coeliac (gluten intolerance) for 10 years and nothing was too much trouble to meet my dietary needs. The breakfast (full English cooked to perfection )particularly good including fresh fruit and a choice of GF cereal! The hosts are the epitome of friendliness and we wouldn\'t hesitate to recommend a stay there - if fact you probably wont want to leave. 5 stars plus.

Reviewer:Stewart Chambers | Tue 7th Jun 2016


Lovely Place! - Rating 5/5

We had a great stay here for two nights.The room was immaculate and with great views;just lovely.Breakfasts smashing and the hosts couldn\'t have been more helpful and welcoming.We will definitely stay again when/if in the area.One not to be missed!

Reviewer:Emily Vaughan | Tue 7th Jun 2016


Fernlea- Rating 5/5

Extremely welcoming and friendly establishment.Nice rural location with excellent views and feel for the countryside yet within touching distance of many urban amenities..Fantastic home-cooked English breakfast

Reviewer:Paul Coulthard | Tue 31st May 2016


Delightful! - Rating 5/5

This is a very homely B&B.Sally is very friendly and helpful.The room is simply lovely and so clean and tidy with lovely touches.Gorgeous garden to look out on and a tasty breakfast cooked beautifully.I love staying here Sally always makes me feel so at home.

Reviewer:Jane Lancaster | Sat 28th May 2016


We\'ll meet again - Rating 5/5

First class accomodation, food and friendliness of management in a quiet countryside location. We will have no hesitation in returning when next in the area.

Reviewer:Monty Cuthbert | Mon 16th May 2016


Lovely bed and breakfast - Rating 5/5

Really enjoyed our stay here Sally and steve are great hosts and lovely people. The rooms are clean and comfortable and Sally cooked a lovely breakfast for us with plenty of choice. Will certainly go back when we are that way

Reviewer:Tess Foster | Mon 2nd May 2016


A great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Thank you so much for making our daughter and her family feel very welcome. They enjoyed their stay, felt that they had been well looked after. Their accommodation was great and breakfast delicious. We shall certainly be booking them in Fernlea again next time they visit and will definitely recommend you to our friends and family.

Reviewer:Christine Bell | Mon 11th Apr 2016


Ideal location for Tattenhall and surrounding area - Rating 4/5

Spotlessly clean and very welcoming. Comfortable beds and pillows. Very quiet considering you can see the A49 from the bedroom. Shower was rather a dribble.Breakfast was great, lovely coffee, local produce and exceptional black pudding. Would have been nice to not have shop bought sliced bread but otherwise excellent.

Reviewer:Mr. Malcolm Johnston | Tue 29th Mar 2016


Lovely B&B - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay, the room was very clean and comfortable and the breakfast delicious. We\'d definitely stay there again.

Reviewer:Sally Davenport | Fri 18th Mar 2016


Fernlea B+B - Rating 5/5

Could not fault them, lovely clean room, exellent food and lovely hosts.

Reviewer:David Kirkham | Fri 18th Dec 2015


Great stay at this lovely cottage B&B - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely stay very peaceful,helpfull and friendly,10 min drive to the park &ride bus takes you right into Chester,hope to stay again.lynda &Ray

Reviewer:Lynda Smith | Fri 27th Nov 2015


Our stay at Fernlea Cottage - Rating 4/5

We had a lovely stay,very welcoming, the room was very clean and comfortable the host covered everything that you needed didn\'t have to ask for anything. Breakfast was very nice cooked to perfection again the hostwasexcellent, friendly, informative and nothing was too much trouble

Reviewer:Linda Clews | Sun 8th Nov 2015


GREAT PLACE TO STAY. - Rating 4/5

Lovely, helpful owners. Spotlessly clean.Great breakfast.Beautiful view of fields from bedroom but only a short drive into Chester. Definitely recommend.

Reviewer:ROBYN WILLIAMS | Tue 27th Oct 2015


Very friendly - Rating 5/5

I stayed with my 4 year old nephew. We were made very welcome. The room was beautiful and had everything you could possibly need to make you comfortable during your stay. Breakfast was delicious and again very well catered for. Would recommend to anyone. Relaxed and friendly atmosphere.

Reviewer:Miss. JoanneCope| Wed 2nd Sep 2015


Excellent Nights Stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed at Fernlea Cottage for one night and were made most welcome. The rooms were bright and comfortable and the beds and pillows probably the best we\'ve ever had in a B&B. Breakfast was comprehensive and tasty. We will certainly recommend to our friends and if back in the area we will stay again.

Reviewer:Ms D Burkinshaw | Wed 26th Aug 2015


ExcellentB & B. - Rating 5/5

Quality accomodation,lovely location, friendly hosts and excellent breakfast. Ideal for visiting Chester (10 minutes) and other North Wales locations.

Reviewer:ALVIN DENOVELLIS | Mon 24th Aug 2015


Pony club champs - Rating 4/5

Very welcoming! Lovely accommodation and a super breakfast! Fruit salad to die for!

Reviewer:Mrs A Livesey | Sun 23rd Aug 2015


Short and sweet- Rating 5/5

Absolutely loved our stay! Beautiful location, the room was comfortable and clean and the bathroom very lovely and clean. Sally was beautiful and made us an amazing breakfast in the morning. Loved our stay, wish we could have stayed longer!

Reviewer:Cerys Murkin | Thu 20th Aug 2015


Lovely Country B&B - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed a warm welcome and hearty breakfast for our single night at Fernlea Cottage. Sally and Steve were most helpful:giving good advice for our evening meal and helping with our bags. The room was clean, fresh, bright and comfortable and our private bathroom was large and well equipped. A very enjoyable stay we would be happy to repeat.

Response

Glad you enjoyed the stay and hope that the return trip to Oz was uneventful.

Reviewer:John Hingston | Thu 13th Aug 2015


A real gem - Rating 5/5

My husband and I were going to Chester races and decided to book a local B&B. We found Fernlea Cottage on line and were very happy with our stay. The accommodation is fabulous, it\'s in a lovely country setting and a delicious breakfast.It\'s a real gem. See you again.

Response

Thanks for the nice comments and we look forward to seeing you again perhaps at a future race meeting.

Reviewer:Mrs S Maddock | Sat 20th Jun 2015


Lovely and comfy place to stay! - Rating 5/5

Perfect stay with very friendly owners. Beautiful views over fields.Very clean,quiet and peaceful place to stay.

Response

Glad you enjoyed the stay and look forward to seeing you again sometime.

Reviewer:Peter Ford | Mon 11th May 2015


Superb - Rating 5/5

We would defenatly stay again at Fernlea Cottage. The Welcome by the Owner (Sally) was warm and Inviting, she gave us a tour of the Building. Her advice about Local Pubs etc was very Helpful. The Breakfast was SUPERB, the Eggs from the Owners Chickens were Delicious. Thank You Once again to Sally.

Response

We are glad you enjoyed the stay and especially the \"home grown\" eggs!

Reviewer:Ian Sutcliffe | Sun 10th May 2015


Great B & B - Rating 5/5

Clean, comfortable accommodation, great breakfast and friendly attentive staff. The co-owner Steve kindly went the extra mile by taking me down to the village so I could get an evening meal and drink and then picking me up afterwards. Great service, thanks.

Response

Glad you enjoyed the stay and was able to sample the delights of the village.

Reviewer:William Glaves | Fri 8th May 2015


A welcome retreat - Rating 5/5

I couldn\'t have asked for more welcoming or accommodating hosts. In the room they\'d thought of everything you might need:a sewing kit, a travel pack of tissues;even sanitary towels and tampax for their female guests! The duvet and the bed was so comfortable I didn\'t want to get out in the mornings, but the quality of the breakfasts were very persuading. Combined with the country views and local attractions, I would deffinately recommend this bed and breakfast.

Response

We are pleased that everything was in order and you enjoyed your stay and will look forward to seeing you again sometime.

Reviewer:Danielle Pickett | Sat 25th Apr 2015


Perfect! - Rating 5/5

The room was very comfortable, very clean and had everything we could possibly have needed. The owners were absolutely brilliant and made us feel at home and like old friends,

Response

Glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again sometime.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew Pegler | Fri 17th Apr 2015


Perfect!! - Rating 5/5

Fantastic hosts, very accommodating, great rooms, continental and English breakfast couldn\'t ask for any better!!

Response

Thanks for the lovely comments and glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewer:Andy Snelling | Thu 16th Apr 2015


Lovely welcoming stay after hectic Applicant Day at Chester University- Rating 5/5

Sally gave us a warm and informative welcome when we arrived to check in.Both rooms were immaculately clean and very well presented.Fresh milk for us the parents and bottled water for our almost adult son (first time staying in his own room) were provided. Recommendation given when asked for a good place to have an evening meal but plenty of ideas in information booklet supplied. Comfortable night and lovely cooked breakfast for us, including a double yolk egg from one of the owners chickens (cereals and juice for the late riser!)B&B located only 6 miles from the centre of Chester and worth the short drive.

Response

Hope to see you again if visiting the University or even for a short break.Thanks for the lovely comments and glad it helped you to relax after a hectic day.

Reviewer:Karen Shepherd | Mon 23rd Mar 2015


delightful stay- Rating 5/5

I just stayed one night for business. It was a delightful place to stay, clean, comfy, lovely people a great location especially for Chester and Cheshire I would definitely recommend

Response

Thank you for your kind comments and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay even though it was only for 1 night but hopefully you will be able to return in the future for a longer stay.

Reviewer:Christopher Jones | Thu 5th Mar 2015


Great place to stay- Rating 5/5

Lovely welcome , excellent breakfast and so many lovely touches that make all the difference for a great place to stay

Response

Thanks for the lovely comments and we hope that the outcome of the visit was successful.

Reviewer:Angela Jefferies | Sun 1st Mar 2015


Perfection- Rating 5/5

Had a wonderful stay at Fernlea Cottage. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. Sally was a perfect hostess. The views from the window were beautiful. Tea and coffee facilities could not be improved. Sally had thought of everything. One thing we would have preferred was two pillows each. Thankyou Sally.

Response

It was a pleasure to have you to stay and hope that you will return some day.Sorry to note that you would have preferred two pillows each but the laminated information sheet on the bed did indicate that extra pillows, if required, were located in the wardrobe or in the under-bed draw.

Reviewer:Mr. Darren Taylor | Sun 15th Feb 2015


January Stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent service.Very friendly and helpfull staff

Response

Thanks for the comments - much appreciated.

Reviewer:Adele Hargreaves | Fri 6th Feb 2015


Quiet and clean - Rating 5/5

We visited Fernlea on New Years day for 3 nights . Last minute booking .we got a very warm welcome and our room was very clean and warm . The breakfast was very nice with great choices , at a time to suit us . We would recommend Fernlea if you are in the area .

Response

So pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Reviewer:Mari Souter | Sun 4th Jan 2015


Christmas shopping weekend - Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation. Very clean. Lovely full English breakfast. Very friendly hosts.Would definitely return!

Response

Hope the weekend was not too taxing on the purse and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.Perhaps next Christmas again?

Reviewer:Joanna Wray | Sun 21st Dec 2014


Home from home - Rating 5/5

A very relaxing place to stay out in the country. The bed was comfortable and the room was light and airy. Breakfast was lovely. I opted for the full English which was plentiful.Would highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

Response

Glad you enjoyed your stay and would recommend to others.Look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewer:Helen Sanders | Mon 15th Dec 2014


Wonderful B & B - Rating 5/5

What a fantastic B &B - it couldnt be fauled in any way. Really comfortable, clean and run by an extremely wonderful friendly and helpful couple. Lovely warm welcome and perfect breakfasts - poached eggs to die for!!!! Will definitely recommend to friends.

Response

So pleased you enjoyed the stay and in particular, our own totally free-range eggs.

Reviewer:Mrs. Barbara Holmes | Thu 4th Dec 2014


Single overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent facilities, clean, warm and comfortable. Distinctive because of the attention to detail and the care taken to cater for individual requirements with regard to food.Took the trouble to make contact before my arrival to ask about any special requirements.Excellent service - look forward to staying again.

Response

I\'m pleased that we were able to live up to your pre-visit expectations and hope that we can provide the same standard should you visit again.

Reviewer:Alan North | Sat 29th Nov 2014


Excellent B&B - Rating 5/5

I had such a lovely stay here, the most welcoming place I\'ve stayed, immaculate room with so many thoughtful touches. Delicious breakfast int he morning too. I would definitely stay again and would recommend a visit to anyone.

Response

I\'m glad that we helped to make your short break what you wished for and hope that we see you again in the future.

Reviewer:Mrs. Corinne Hills | Mon 24th Nov 2014


Very pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

A very pleasant Bed and Breakfast. The room was spotlessly clean and well appointed with good en suite facilities. The breakfast was hearty and very nicely cooked, just like mother made. The landlady was friendlyand when asked about local eating places directed me to the local villagewhere the was some very good eating to be had. All in all a very pleasant two night stay and I will return when in the area again.

Response

Thank you for your comments which are much appreciated and glad you enjoyed the local eateries which continue to get good reviews.

Reviewer:Russell Turner | Sun 16th Nov 2014


HOME COMFORTS - Rating 5/5

A VERY ENJOYABLE AND FRIENDLY STAY WILL REVISIT IN FUTURE.GOOD FOOD AND COMFORTABLE BED

Response

Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewer:Keith Miller | Thu 6th Nov 2014


Beautiful B&B - Rating 4/5

Beautiful location and we was greeted with a very warm welcome. The room was lovely and we had an extremely comfortable nights sleep. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Response

Thanks for the comments which are much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed the stay.

Reviewer:Kim Cramp | Tue 21st Oct 2014


A most enjoyable & pleasant place to stay! - Rating 5/5

Even though I was late in arriving due to horrendous traffic(iturned 8pm)I was greeted at the door, warmly &pleasantly by Sally &shown to my tastefully decorated, clean &airy &most pleasant room.Sally even gave me recommendations &directions to a local pub in the village which served excellent meals &real ale (The Sportsmans).Breakfast was excellent with free range eggs from their own chickens.All in all, a very pleasant and enjoyable experience which I highly recommend.I wil certainly stay there again when in that part of the country.

Response

Thank you for the kind comments and glad you enjoyed both your stay and visit to The Sportsmans.It is always difficult to know if a recommended eating place is going to be to everyone\'s taste but they usually get very good reviews from customers.Hope to see you again if going to Oulton Park in the future.

Reviewer:Derek Wilson | Mon 13th Oct 2014


A rural retreat.- Rating 4/5

Every comfort was attended to in this B and B. Lovely hosts. Great location near good restaurants. Breakfast was very satisfying. Well worth a visit.

Response

We look forward to seeing you again and glad you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewer:Barry Harmsworth | Sat 4th Oct 2014


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Made very welcome by sally when we arrived as a stopover to our main destination. Lovely house set in picturesque surroundings. Stayed one night at the end of our holiday as well.

Response

Pleased that you liked your first stay with us that you also decided to stay again on the return trip.Hope to meet again in the future.

Reviewer:Eddie Shanks | Wed 1st Oct 2014


Excellent B & B - Rating 5/5

Excellent overnight stay nothing too much trouble. Superb breakfast and will definitely recommend to friends.

Response

Glad you enjoyed the weekend and wedding and hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewer:Dorothy Cornthwaite | Sun 28th Sep 2014


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

All perfect, I could find no faults. Very quiet and comfortable room, with great views. Good free wi-fi coverage. Breakfast was delicious. Very welcoming staff, made me feel at home. 5 stars.

Response

Thank you for your kind comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you were successful in your search.

Reviewer:Mr. Hector Garces-Perez | Sun 28th Sep 2014


Our stay - Rating 5/5

From arriving to departing both my husband and myself had a wonderful time. Steve and Sallywere so welcoming.The bedroom itself was beautiful and clean.The breakfast was first class. We have already talked about going back. Thank you Steve and Sally for a enjoyable stay. See you both soon.

Response

So pleased you enjoyed your stay and would love to see you again and catch up on all your news.

Reviewer:Denis Connell | Wed 24th Sep 2014


a warm welcome awaits - Rating 4/5

a warm welcome, spotlessly clean, lots of helpful information and one of the best breakfasts for a long time. only downside was the elbow-bangingly-small shower.for those sensitive to noise, the main road may be somewhat too close.

Reviewer:Mrs. Madeleine Wagner | Tue 16th Sep 2014


Elegant and inexpensive - Rating 5/5

House done in good taste, breakfast with fine foods and elegantly dressed table, friendly hosts. I recommend without hesitation.

Reviewer:Guy Bullen | Tue 16th Sep 2014


A little gem - Rating 5/5

The Fernlea Cottage is all that a B&B should be (and more). Spotlessly clean, very comfy bed, fabulous breakfast and a lovely, friendly hostess. I will definitely stay there again. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Stephen Smith | Fri 12th Sep 2014


Restful experience - Rating 5/5

We stayed at Fernlea Cottage on two occasions during our holiday. On both occasions the welcome was warm, the place was clean, the food was good and our stay was very enjoyable. Would recommend this B&B to everyone.

Reviewer:Eddie Shanks | Sun 7th Sep 2014


Thanks! - Rating 5/5

Sally and Steve are wonderful hosts. The magic of a B&B stay is in the detail as well as friendliness and Fernlea is a wee treasure - comfortable beds, pillows that are nice to sleep on and nice little touches like pretty china coffee mugs. Thanks - I hope I will be back.Shandy Arlidge

Reviewer:Ms. Sandra Arlidge | Mon 25th Aug 2014


Peaceful stay - Rating 4/5

Close to small village with several food options. Very nice and peaceful place with good breakfast.

Response

Glad you enjoyed your brief stay and was able to sample the wide variety of eateries that the village has to offer.

Reviewer:Karina Svensson | Sun 24th Aug 2014


Enjoyed my stay! - Rating 5/5

I fully enjoyed my stay at Fernlea Cottage B&B. Marvellous view from my room (Golborn Room), Sally and Steve were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was delicious, with the eggs fresh from their own hens. I recommend this B&B wholeheartedly!

Response

Pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the remainder of your holiday.Hope to see you again.

Reviewer:Patrick Van Aarle | Sat 23rd Aug 2014


BSB Oulton Park - Rating 5/5

Booked this bed and breakfast only a week ahead of the British super bikes triple header weekend at oulton park circuit, we were very lucky in finding somewhere to stay (besides a motorway holiday inn). Had a lovely stay, excellent breakfast and a very good nights sleep. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again, and hopefully will in the future as it was close to Chester, chesire oaks and the circuit, couldn't have found a better location for a weekend away if we had tried.

Response

So glad you enjoyed your stay and the retail therapy on the Sunday was worthwhile.

Reviewer:Hannah Wilson | Mon 11th Aug 2014


One of the best - Rating 5/5

Excellent hosts. Made us feel very welcome. The room are clean and cozy. Excellent breakfast.

Response

Look forward to seeing you again in the future if in the area.Thank you.

Reviewer:Orit Parnes | Fri 8th Aug 2014


eyeball - Rating 5/5

friendly welcome, (even the dog wagged it's tail)spotlessly clean and comfortable roomGood cooked breakfast. Highly reccommended

Response

Pleased that you enjoyed the stay with us Holly is missing you already!Thank you again.

Reviewer:Brian Ball | Wed 6th Aug 2014


Home from Home - Rating 5/5

An over-used phrase but perfect in this instance.Very comfortable room with everything you could possibly ask for and a bit more besides!Very friendly hosts and an excellent breakfast.Couldn't fault it and would definitely go back if we were in that area.

Response

Glad that you enjoyed your stay even if the weather was not too kind on one of the days. Thank you.

Reviewer:Judith Smith | Tue 5th Aug 2014


A day at the open golf - Rating 5/5

Fantastic B&B's nothing too much trouble for the hosts and everything seemed to have been thought about Down to home baked cake along with the tea and coffee in the room, lovely gardens the only downside was that as it was very hot we needed to sleep with the windows open and the traffic noise was very noticeable. Well served by local places to eat.

Response

So glad you enjoyed your stay and we agree that the traffic noise did seem rather noticeable.It seemed to "travel" through the still air more than usual and was especially more evident with all windows being open.Hope it didn't detract too much from the visit.

Reviewer:Barbara Dooley | Fri 25th Jul 2014


Overnight Stay - Rating 4/5

Very pleasant overnight stay,would stay there again. Superb breakfast presented well.Very clean and tidy

Reviewer:Lennard Pope | Mon 21st Jul 2014


Lovely B & B - Rating 5/5

Fernlea Cottage is a lovely b &b situated in a quite, serene setting.The room was spacious, clean and comfortable and looked out over quiet fields.Sally was welcoming and made us feel right at home.Breakfast was delicious and beautifully laid out.

Reviewer:Mrs. Kelly Paquette | Fri 27th Jun 2014


Simply Outstanding - Rating 5/5

The owners are so lovely and nothing is too much trouble. Sally even gave us a lift to the wedding we were attending when we were unable to get a taxi. The breakfast is wonderful with everthing you could ask for and more. The room was by far the most comfortable I have ever stayed in with the little touches like bathrobes that really make Fernlea stand out. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this B&B and hope to return one day.

Reviewer:Tracey Ford | Wed 18th Jun 2014


Review - Rating 5/5

Cannot fault anything,the location ,the food, the accommodation,all first class. Would have no hesitation in staying again. Ideal location for Cholmondeley events.

Reviewer:Stuart Wright | Sun 15th Jun 2014


Couldn't do enough to help! :-) - Rating 5/5

Nothing was too much trouble... the room was beautiful, both in looks from the new decor and smell from the vase of fresh roses from the garden. Breakfast was exceptional - local produce topped off with toast and local honey. We look forward to spending time at this excellent B&B in the near future.

Reviewer:Andy Abele | Sun 1st Jun 2014


Excellent B&B - Rating 5/5

Excellent B&B, comfortable and clean, great service.

Reviewer:KRASIMIR YACHEV | Tue 27th May 2014


Smart and friendly - Rating 4/5

Sally &Steve were very welcoming (as on my previous visit) and everything was very clean and efficient without compromising on informality. The only downside is the traffic noise if you like to sleep with your windows open.

Reviewer:Brian Earl | Fri 23rd May 2014


Great stay! - Rating 5/5

Very obliging, warm and welcoming, fabulous breakfast, comfortable bed, lovely views. Ticked every box!

Response

So glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.Best wishes.

Reviewer:Jill Spencer | Sat 17th May 2014


Weekend in Cheshire - Rating 4/5

We really enjoyed our stay at Fernlea cottage, lovely bedroom &en-suite, beautiful views, peaceful surroundings, and lovely breakfast ! We will definitely stay here again

Response

Thanks for the lovely comments and we do hope you will come back at some point.

Reviewer:Caroline Foy | Mon 12th May 2014


Wonderful - Rating 5/5

We stayed 3 nights as we have stayed before and knew it was handy for our visit to Oulton Park, and also that it was top quality food, accommodation and welcome from Steve and Sally Brown.Very clean and private room with ensuite, and lounge available to us.All our needs catered for with flexibility on times, types of breakfast etc.Good place for visiting lovely surrounding area. Good choice of restaurants in the local village.Cannot recommend highly enough.Will definitely return.

Response

Thanks very much - your kind comments are much appreciated.We look forward to seeing you again and hope to continue the butterfly theme!

Reviewer:Roy Williams | Wed 7th May 2014


Good B&B - Rating 5/5

Sally was very helpful and friendly. The breakfasts were great and bed was really comfortable. I would recommend

Response

Thank you Nick and glad you enjoyed the weekend.

Reviewer:Nick Dorman | Mon 5th May 2014


Mini break - Rating 5/5

What a wonderful home from home! I feel like I have made a new friend in Sally, the hospitality and warmth is outstanding, rooms are tastefully and lovingly decorated with fantastic views, great location for exploring Cheshire! Delicious breakfast catered to whatever you fancy. Highly recommended and I will definitely be going back :-)

Response

Thanks Elke for the lovely comments and we hope that the rest of your trip was as enjoyable.We look forward to seeing you again at some point in the future.

Reviewer:Elke Cole | Wed 30th Apr 2014


A friendly welcome - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed our stay at Fernlea Cottage. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful and with their local knowledge we had a fantastic dinner in a local pub. Fernlea Cottage is a short drive from Chester and easy to find. The house is clean and comfortable and we had a pleasant view across the countryside.

Response

Thank you for the comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.It is always an unknown factor when recommending somewhere to eat as tastes differ so much from one person to another.

Reviewer:Mr. Peter Stone | Tue 22nd Apr 2014


Great Option - Rating 5/5

Convenient location, great hosts and a sound nights sleep. Highly recommend Fernlea Cottage as a base to explore the area or for an overnight stay.

Reviewer:Michael Warren | Tue 15th Apr 2014


Very Comfortable Stay - Rating 5/5

I stayed at Fernlea Cottage while working locally and had a very comfortable 2 nights, lovely room, great breakfast and a very warm welcome. I would have expected to pay more for the high standard of accommodation and would be very happy to stay again in the future.

Response

Thanks for the lovely comments and we hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewer:Jeremy Duckham | Wed 9th Apr 2014


Home away from home - Rating 5/5

Sally and Steve were so welcoming and nothing was too much trouble, including our laundry! The room was immaculate and very comfortable. Breakfast choices excellent. Thank you so much for a memorable experience.

Response

Thanks for the lovely compliments and we hope that you and Bronwen enjoy the rest of your trip.We may well take up the offer of a visit if I can persuade someone to take a plane ride!

Reviewer:Rodney Dohnt | Thu 3rd Apr 2014


short stay - Rating 5/5

This was our first visit to Fernlea and I was very impressed with the all aspects of our stay. We only stayed one night but would have no hesitation in booking for longer which we will do when we next visit the area.

Response

Thank you very much for the kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again and for a hopefully longer stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Lewis Stokes | Tue 18th Mar 2014


B&B - Rating 4/5

Very pleasant and comfortable stay. Would definitely stay there again if in the area

Reviewer:Dafydd Charles | Fri 31st Jan 2014


Home from Home - Rating 5/5

We highly recommend Fernlea Cottage.On our arrival we had a lovely warm reception, our room was clean &comfortable with the bonus of having a sitting room to relax in!Breakfast delicious, so nice to have free range eggs and "proper"sausages &all locally sourced. It really couldn't have been better.Thank you

Response

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that we had similar aims in what we want to do.Hope to see you again.Thanks for the comments.

Reviewer:Mrs Alison Brinsford | Mon 11th Nov 2013


Enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed as a guest wit Sally for two nights. On arrival we were made to feel at home. The room was bright and cheery and the facilities were excellent. Breakfast was superb, fresh local produce well presented and the cooked breakfast was delicious. Thank you very much Sally for an enjoyable experience.

Response

Thanks for the lovely comments and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewer:Robert Porter | Tue 1st Oct 2013